April 1, 2009

industry practice

Posted in Professional Practice at 11:26 pm by lisa jos

What I learnt doing this brief for the council…

working towards a deadline that’s not flexible, the work is not for assessments, it is for a client that has an event to prepare for and at the end of the day you’re not working for yourself any more you’re working for a client and as I found out with this particular project there is no time to waste! I felt like I had to work harder and make more of an effort to be on time and stay later, as I didn’t want to let the group down nor the client!

I was disappointed that I couldn’t attend the event on the Saturday,  I already had other previous commitments. I felt like at the end of the hard work and long days I didn’t get to enjoy the results! This made me wonder if this is what it’s always going to be like working for someone else?? Having your work up somewhere or displayed on something where nobody knows you made it? It bought me back to thinking of copyright and how it relates. Is working for clients in the future always going to mean they own whatever you produce for them? I learnt from this experience that working for a client is completely different to working for yourself or the university. You have other people to think about and so more responsibility and therefore more pressure!

I did enjoy this industry practice, for many reasons. Firstly I got to work with a wide variety of students at the Uni who I don’t usually work with, and it was fun as well as beneficial to me. I picked up a few illustration tips from John, and I benefit from discussing my work in a team, and getting feedback from different people was definitely helpful. It helped me out a lot. I also enjoyed the project as i like drawing characters and wanted to get to draw some more and have illustration-based work. It was a good experience also that we discussed the possibilities with the council workers, and that we didn’t have a set brief, they told us the issues they wanted to address to the locals in the event and that they wanted to get their number out, then we had to come up with ideas. Communication with the client was good at the start but I think they could have got more involved in the process, as they could have disliked the end pieces as they didn’t see any of it in progress. But maybe that was a fault on our part as a team that we didn’t contact them to come down and see how it was going.

Leave a comment